Hurricane Isaac Update 3

The Oreos are finished.

 

Yeah, ok, I had some help from a few people. So, ten out of the entire Oreos package I didn’t eat.

Ten.

That’s why we can’t have Oreos in the house.

Anyway! It’s Friday morning and my neighborhood has been without power since Tuesday around 1 a.m. I was not able to update on the hurricane since I was unable to get on the internet (obviously) and had to use whatever power was left on the computer to charge my cellphone once it ran out of juice. And since it was nearly impossible to call anyone on it and text messages were taking hours to go out, the phone was dead by Tuesday evening.

*Shout out to my amazing friend Jackie who let me spend Thursday night at her house where she’s had power the entire time. I would totally hate her petite, 5’1″ guts for that, except I’ve been able to charge my computer and phone at her house and take advantage of that silly luxury called light bulbs.

Tuesday  evening  I spent with my neighbors, Dan and Lex. We only had the radio to know what was happening with the storm. The most common thing people were saying on the radio was “we really didn’t expect this storm to be as bad as it was.” Isaac was a category 1, but it was moving between 5-8 mph over land and therefore was able to cause a great deal of damage.

There’s really nothing to do when you have no power and can’t leave the house. This is where Louisiana’s laissez faire attitude with booze comes in handy. I mean, if you’re without power for several days in the Louisiana heat, would you want to be sober? There was one bar in the Quarter mentioned on the radio that stayed open, even as 70 mph winds were wiping through the city. For as old as the Quarter is, it never floods and almost never loses power. Perhaps we should design the rest of the city as well as the 18 century founders? No?

At about 10 a.m. on Tuesday another neighbor was next door sitting by his grill, cooking meat and drinking beer. We took a walk around the neighborhood, even against the reports asking us all to stay inside. I was surprised by how much debris from the trees was strewn across the road along with power lines that had fallen down. It was good to take a walk, even with the wind and rain pounding us, especially since in the evening we were under a curfew. I didn’t want to be outside at night anyway; it’s an eerie feeling to see an entire city without light.

I was too spooked to go back into my place alone with the wind and no power still, so I slept most of the night at my neighbor’s house. We benefited from the winds being strong and kept the windows and the front door open to keep the house as cool as possible. It felt a little like sleeping outside camp style, we had the windows open for air and flashlights lighting our path.  I couldn’t help but think of the dangers  experienced by others during Hurricane Katrina. My neighbor a few houses down told me he stayed during Katrina and because of the looting at night they wouldn’t light candles. They were afraid people would know they were home and would break in to rob or hurt them.

Thankfully, Isaac has not been close to the destruction that was experienced during the Federal Flood. However, it’s hard to not make the connection, especially since it made landfall on the 7 year anniversary of the catastrophe. Even without power, we were blessed to be dry and safe inside. We have a gas stove and were been able to cook meals. Hearing about the damage from flooding that was caused in other parts of Louisiana, I can’t complain about anything.

Leave a Reply

