Writer’s Spotlight is still going strong

My friend Chris, co-writer of this adorable blog, sent me the following article written by Jackson Free Press editor Lacey McLaughlin about the Writer’s Spotlight:

Last week, I was fortunate enough to hear the works of so many talented local writers. I hosted the quarterly Writer’s Spotlight at Lemuria where local writers such as Bob Hudson, Jeremiah Maeda, Herbert Brown and Anita Modak-Truran read their writings. After the event, someone who just moved to the area told me that she didn’t realize Jackson had so much talent.

Former Jacksonian Janine Jankovitz started the Writer’s Spotlight nearly two years ago, and it’s given writers as well as non-writers a place to connect. Unless you were there, it’s hard to describe how powerful it is to see local writers share their stories and bare their souls as they take the stage. I’ve never felt so proud of my city.

If you’ve been following this blog since the beginning, you know that I started the Writer’s Spotlight in January of 2009. The event was born from my need to meet other writers, create a writing community, hear other writers read their work, and give my own work an audience. It was a completely selfish enterprise. As the event grew to include more and more writers, I met some of the most interesting writers, passionate editors, and successful publishers. We had five Writer’s Spotlights while I was living in Jackson; I had no idea it would catch on and grow to the point that it would once I moved from Jackson to New Orleans.

Pretty exciting stuff. Way to go Jacktown!

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Spotlight is still going strong

  1. Josh says:

    Hey, that’s awesome, Janine!

  2. Selena says:

    You’re a busy gal! Proud of ya, sis!

Leave a Reply

